10 comments on “Episode One: Parapsychology

  1. The ‘endless episodes about nothing’… so true. I can still remember how the first episode of Dark Shadows played out: Roger and Liz arguing. and then episode 210, the first one of Barnabas’ appearances? opens with willie and jason arguing. I think it is a hallmark of the soap opera genre, without which DS wouldn’t be the same. but oh how tedious it can get. wish I had someone to watch DS with.

    • You’ve hit the nail right on the head, my dear! That’s what we’re all looking for online, isn’t it? More people to view the show with. It’s a little awkward but it is do-able. Melissa and I have some unique methods for doing so, not exactly in perfect sync with each other, but we’ve been managing.

      Because of the length of the DS show it does require long-term variables and careful listings of what # and such. But that can be quite stimulating to the mind. One just needs to keep some kind of record of it somehow. So glad I have the DS almanacs and books about it. That helps a great deal. Keep in touch. ❤

  2. Just found this site. Just started watching DS after seeing some episodes way back. Thanks for the audio.

    • Wow. I can’t remember the last time I got a thank you for The Pit audio. It’s been rare. I remember the first one in 2014 and the man was shocked that he was the first to say thank you.

      If you ever want to chat about what you like, well, that’s why I am sharing it. Take care, Jack.

      • You are welcome, and sure thing. I can be reached at [censored for privacy]. take care.

  3. If a listener, new or old, is starting here, and thinking, “Talking about this is going to take forever!”

    Well… I have two suggestions for you:

    1) Go to the last episode posted and talk about that one.

    or

    2) Start here with the full knowledge that time is all we have.

    It is all we have. If you enjoy this show and want to talk about it? I’m here. Even back to Episode One. The big biz tech companies have already stolen five years away from us. Why would talking about something you enjoy be such a bad way to spend your time now? 🙂 ❤

  4. This is my second time listening. I never watched the original show (though all the girls in my high school classes rushed home every day to watch), so everything I know about it I learn here. I’ve already listened several episodes beyond this one, which is helpful in absorbing and understanding details in Episode 1.

    (Nice wolf howl!)

    . . Are you already weaving references to several works into the same sentence? I hear “Hill House”, and I think of Shirley Jackson’s novel (bless Wikipedia); but you then mention six people, and I think not only of Jackson’s characters, but the characters in Clue the movie as well (and is the phrase “took care of” ambiguous on purpose?).

    Yes, knowing Wadsworth is Tim Curry, it was funny to hear the phrase “cross-dressing” thrown around.

    . . Yes, Wadsworth seems to know about Josette’s being reincarnated. One wonders how he knows.

    And yes, the three Ghostbusters and Slimer were very funny. You’ve got it, right down to Bill
    Murray’s character not taking his job 100% seriously.

    . . . Oh, man. Did I just hear the word “reference” used with two simultaneous meanings? 😉

    Yet, beneath all the comedy, it is nice to see them in the cafe apparently starting to put together a friendship.

    • Thanks! I was a bit stunned to go back to the movie of Clue and realise, “Hmm! Yes, Miss Scarlet did say it was Hill House off of Route 41,” Methinks Landis and Lynn borrowed from Shirely Jackson. Six people and several deaths is definitely taken from “Clue: The Movie”. A ton is ambiguous, similiar to a daytime drama or other show, for the sake if I ever stumble-on absolute accuracy in something I can define it later.

      I’m not sure if ‘reference’ was used for two meanings, but I wouldn’t be surprised. And the friendship in a cafe begins again, yes. I applaud your seeing Wadsworth is aware of the reincarnation aspect going on. Makes it about as obvious that the romance will lead where it does in nearly each production of “Dark Shadows”. (And Bill Murray’s influence is very helpful!)

  5. Pingback: Episode One: Parapsychology | The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows

Leave a comment